AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Land Rental Ethics-How do you guys add acres?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

Greg Stremel
Posted 4/16/2009 21:35 (#682946 - in reply to #682125)
Subject: RE: Land Rental Ethics- You guys are like a bunch of lawyers! :)

Southwest Missouri
Ok, now that I have insulted you, let me explain. :)

When I started practicing law in 1983, the whole culture of lawyers was changing. It was changing from a profession to a business, at least in my little corner of the world.

Two partners hired me. One was 70 and the other was in his 40's. The older gentleman never advertised in his life. His father before him did not either. He felt that you got clients the old fashioned way, word of mouth. He did not believe that anyone would respond to advertising.

The younger partner was willing to be more creative or aggressive in getting clients. He was held back by the older attorney who had very strong opinions on the subject.

I was the young pup and was willing to go out and compete for clients. But, there were limits as to what I was allowed to do. Mass advertising was definitely out of the question.

A lot of our differences were due to our status in life. The older guy had plenty of good paying work. I did not. The guy in the middle was ok, but always looked for better work to do.

Different clients had different needs and there were different ways to contact them. The older attorney had a mostly office practice with established businesses. Those clients were not impressed with any possible advertising campaign. They were reached by word of mouth, just as the attorney thought.