AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Raven sidekick for nh3
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 3/31/2024 09:12 (#10687584 - in reply to #10687305)
Subject: RE: Raven sidekick for nh3

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
BLUF- Bottom Line Up Front: Your meter cal may be incorrect. Your injection pump may need repair and is not pumping what is expected. There might be an obstruction in the inlet to the pump.

I worked as a Tech for a Raven dealer for several years. This was before retirement. My remarks are based on memory (sometimes not so good) and how the injection pumps operated at that time. I was fortunate to be able to be a Beta Tester in the early years of injection due to my position as a Tech and a farmer.

The Raven injection pumps came in two sizes. One was the High volume model and the other was the Ultra low volume model. The main difference between the two was that a slow down gearbox was used with the Ultra low volume pump. This allowed the motor to run within a desirable speed range but yet turn the pump much slower. The choice of whether to use a High or Ultra Low Volume pump was based on the flow range required for the situation. This depends on the desired rate, implement width and ground speed.

The flow requirements of an injection system on a large SP sprayer with a large boom, fast ground speed and a relatively high applied rate would be far greater than on NH3 bar being used for N-Serv with a smaller width, slower ground speed and rate. The Ultra low volume injection pump was generally used for N-Serv. Incidentally the early work done with N-Serv was done at the dealership where I worked.