AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Looking to go to strip till
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

nayrgro
Posted 9/7/2007 06:48 (#199752)
Subject: Looking to go to strip till

Tekonsha Mi.
I have been using minimum till on my corn for the last 8- 10 years I was using a chisel plow with 3 inch twisted shoves but in the last 4 years I have went to straight spikes that were 2' wide by 1.7/8 thick by 24 inches long. We are running a JD mulch tiller I took the depth stops out so I could get down 12-15". In order to get rid of the hard pan. The reason I went to these spike type point was for two reasons. 1) To leave more fotter on top and 2) To pull up less stones. Depending on the farm I either run a mulch finisher with a brillion packer (to push the rocks back into the ground) Or a Krause disk with a brillion packer. I would like to leave more fotter on top to help with my OM and also to get more fotter on top.

I am in a soybean corn rotation for the most part.

I would like to got to a strip till type machine for two reasons. 1) to have a one pass system. 2) So I can plant early like I do with my min. till program because of the warmer soils and have more ground cover to delay weed emergence and increase my OM.

Because I cant get on all my ground when I should I end up with some compaction. So I was wondering If there is a strip till machine out there that will get down low enough to take out some of my hard pan?

Also if I run a strip till machine with row cleaners am I going to pull up and windrow my cobble stones in between the strips? Making it hard to harvest my no till my soybeans the following year?