AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

regarding the strip till below
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Charlie SEMN
Posted 7/27/2006 23:41 (#30490 - in reply to #30393)
Subject: RE: regarding the strip till below...why

I'll bite, and post my fertilizer applications.

This is my first year of producing no-till corn, and I enrolled in the EQIP program for no-till/strip-till and for nutrient management planning (according to U of MN recommendations). As part of this switch, I made a change to banding fertilizer at the same time I am planting. Having used liquid starter fertiziler in the past, and preferring the ease and cost of handling, I stayed with liquid fertilizers.

My soils have Bray P levels of 24-66 ppm, K levels of 121-174 ppm, O.M. of 2.3%-3.6%, and pHs of 6.4-6.9. According to the U of MN, my soils are high to very high in P & K, and need only 10-15 lbs of banded P & K applied for corn production. With conventional tillage, I was usually broadcasting 10-25 lbs P and 50-75 lbs K per coop recommendations. This year I placed 32-11-18-5 (N-P-K-S) either in the seed furrow or 2"x2" with my planter. and followed with 90 lbs of N sidedressed in early June. As of now, I haven't noticed any visual signs of nutrient deficiencies. However, I do plan on putting some of the EQIP funds toward increased soil testing, so I can closely monitor soil levels. I will probably also perform some tissue testing to verify that the plants are receiving the nutrients they need. In particular, my concern is K.