AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

regarding the strip till below
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Jim
Posted 7/29/2006 00:42 (#30787 - in reply to #30242)
Subject: RE: regarding the strip till below - lets not criticize the messenger!

Driftless SW Wisconsin
I don't like the idea of criticizing a researcher based on a conversation "5-6 years ago".

I heard the same (I believe) researcher speak and what I recall from the conversation is that we do not necessarily have to apply all of the chemical elements removed by a crop with artificial, man-applied replacements.

I am an engineer, not an agronomist, but what I recall from him and other speakers is that those nutrients can and do also come from many other sources in addition to what we apply. Soils and minerals are generated by nature, maybe just not at the rate that 200 bu corn requires so we need to supplement. Earthworm activity can convert a number of materials to nutrient elements.

Banding is just a more efficient way of applying nutrients where they are needed. Broadcasting leaves fertilizer on the surface where some of it volatizes in tot the air, washes into the watershed or is driven on and in such a compacted mass that it is probably not available to plants for quite some time.

Broadcast recommendations as I recall were based on a certain degree of loss and reduced availability.

I have heard several researchers from several different Midwest universities say that IF fertilizer is placed beneath the soils surface by 2" or more losses due to volatization into the air or runoff into water table are greatly reduced.