AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Separation Divorce
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Kitchen TableMessage format

Old Man River
Posted 8/15/2010 22:28 (#1317389 - in reply to #1313594)
Subject: RE: Separation Divorce

You've gotten some good advice on the emotional side, and I haven't been down this road, so I can't add much.

However, I work as a CPA in addition to my grain farming operation. Jake usually gives excellent advice on here so I don't often post on tax or financial issues because he covers them so well. However, I didn't see the financial side covered as much as the emotional side in the responses to your post so I felt compelled to post.

I have worked with several clients in a similar situation as yours and it seems in most cases I see where farming operations involved, divorce turns many years of marriage into a nasty, low-down, dirty, cut-throat business deal. My experience tells me that emotions (anger, hurt, a strong desire to reconcile) turn some of the most talented farmer-negotiators into mush in divorce situations. You've really got two issues that I see if the divorce goes through--custody on the 14 year old son and financial issues. The time to start preparing to deal with these issues is now.